Skip to main content

James B. Duke Memorial Library: Home

Fall 2017 Hours: Mon: 7:30AM- 12AM, Tues - Thu: 7:30AM- 11PM, Fri. 7:30AM- 5PM, Sat: 10AM-2PM, Sun: 2PM-12AM

Subject / College Research Guides - Click on the College or Subject tab for more information

Loading

Mission Statement

The mission of the James B. Duke Memorial Library is to support University endeavors to produce graduates who are able to communicate effectively, think critically, learn independently as well as collaboratively, and demonstrate competence in their chosen fields by serving as the center of information in providing resources in all formats that empower our students, faculty, and users with the skills to successfully evaluate, analyze, and use information effectively in all areas of their life. (Revised June 16, 2015)

Additional Research Guides

Here you will find links to any additional Research Guides that have been created for the various departments here at Johnson C. Smith University. 

Welcome

 

Welcome to the James B. Duke Memorial Library!

Here you will find information about the library as well as the services we offer. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us! 

James B. Duke Memorial Library Information

How to access the James B. Duke Memorial Library catalog to look for books:

  1. Go to www.jcsu.edu and click on “Library” at the bottom of the screen or type in library.jcsu.edu
  2. Click on “Media &Books” in the red banner
  3. Type in your search

How to access James B. Duke Memorial Library databases to look for articles:

  1.  Go to www.jcsu.edu and click on “Library” at the bottom of the screen or type in library.jcsu.edu
  2. Go to the “Research and Support" dropdown menu and choose "Databases."
  3. Choose the database you’d like to search. They are arranged first by college and then in alphabetical order and there are descriptions of what each contains. Our biggest database is “ProQuest Central” to find articles on over 175 subjects. 
  4. Off-campus students will be prompted for a JCSU ID and password. Your JCSU ID is your email address before the "@" sign (for example, bndaniels.2014) and your password is your email password.
  5. Clicking on the "Advanced Search" option in any of our databases will give you more flexibility in your search.

How to search in ProQuest Central

  1. Go to www.jcsu.edu and click on “Library” at the bottom of the screen or type in library.jcsu.edu
  2. Go to the “Research and Support" dropdown menu and choose "Databases"
  3. Databases are arranged first by college and then in alphabetical order. Choose “ProQuest Central” from the list
  4. Click on “Advanced Search” for more options
  5. Be sure to check the box for “Full text” in the Limit to section so that you can read, print or email the entire article
  6. If your professor has asked for only peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, check the box for “Peer reviewed” in the Limit to section
  7. Type in your search
  8. Check the Sort results by drop-down menu to put your results in order of publication
  9. Check the Narrow results by sidebar to further refine your search by publication date, geographic location, document type, etc.
  10. Click on the title of the article to see the full-text
  11. To email, print, cite or save your searches or articles, use the icons in the blue bar above your results list

Library Information

Fall 2017 Hours

  • Monday: 7:30AM-12AM
  • Tuesday-Thursday: 7:30AM-11PM
  • Friday: 7:30AM-5PM
  • Saturday: 10AM-2PM
  • Sunday: 2PM-12AM  

NOTE: The library is closed the weekend before a University holiday (for example, Easter, Memorial Day, Labor Day)


Call the Library

  • Main Line: (704) 371-6731/6732

Email the Library

  • jcsulibrary@gmail.com

Library General Policies

This list serves as a concise list of the general policies that govern the James B. Duke Memorial Library. If you have any questions about these rules please do not hesitate to contact us. A full list of our rules can be found at http://library.jcsu.edu/general-policies/.

  1. You need your student ID to check out materials from the library; you’ll be asked a few questions and we’ll place a bar code on your ID card
  2. You can check out up to 30 items at a time for a period of 28 days.; overdue fines are .25 cents per day
  3. Course reserves are textbooks and other materials that are for use in the library only for a two-hour period.
  4. We have four group and seven individual study rooms that can be checked out for a three-hour period.
  5. Please keep your phones on vibrate, headphones at a low volume and conversations to a minimum.
  6. Food in the library is limited to only individual snacks and drinks with lids. Please, no Burger King or Bojangles!
  7. Photocopies cost .10 per page and the machine takes only cash or coins. Scanning is free but to an email address or a USB drive. Faxing is also free, but we can only send, not receive, faxes.