Skip to main content

Business Management: Business Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Dictionary

As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. The below Dictionaries can be found in the Oxford Reference Dictionary.

Note:  For access to many of the Libguide resource links you will need to first login through the library's database page before accessing the link:  Then scroll down to Oxford Reference link to access many of the resources listed on the page.

Business Related Dictionaries

A Dictionary of the Internet

This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet. There are also useful links to relevant websites.

 

A Dictionary of Statistics (3 ed.)

This invaluable dictionary covers all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability, presented in a clear and practical way. It also provides biographical entries on over 200 key figures in the field, plus coverage of statistical journals and societies. The new edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics.

 

A Dictionary of Social Media

This fascinating dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking.

 

A Dictionary of Finance and Banking (5 ed.)

The new edition of this best-selling Dictionary has been fully revised and updated, with over 1,000 entries either new or revised. These focus in particular on recent terminology, institutions, and safety measures coined or introduced since the economic crash of 2008–9, including reactions to the crisis such as the Asset Protection Scheme. The dictionary defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance.

 

A Dictionary of Economics (4 ed.)

An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics.

 

A Dictionary of Computer Science (7 ed.)

Previously named A Dictionary of Computing, this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. Including expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computing, it encompasses all aspects of the subject. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner, with helpful examples where relevant, and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet

Business Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Business Research Methods

This accessible new dictionary provides clear and authoritative definitions of terms, approaches, and techniques in the area of business research methods. It covers research philosophies including research design and qualitative and quantitative methods, types of data and data collection techniques, and organizing and reporting research finding.

 

A Dictionary of Business and Management (6 ed.)

This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behavior, business strategy, law, and taxation. Now in its sixth edition, it features recent developments such as social media and peer-to-peer lending, as well as the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis.

 

A Dictionary of Accounting (4 ed.)

Substantially updated and expanded, the fourth edition of this dictionary provides straightforward definitions of the latest financial jargon along with comprehensive coverage of financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct and indirect taxation, corporate finance, and auditing.

 

A Dictionary of Marketing (4 ed.)

An accessible and wide-ranging A–Z, providing over 2,100 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts.

 

A Dictionary of Human Resource Management (2 rev. ed.)

This dictionary comprises over 1,400 entries on human resource management, personnel, and industrial relations. It covers technical terms, jargon, theories, and concepts, all of which are relevant for undergraduate and MBA students, human resource practitioners, and trade unionists.

Business Related Dictionaries

A Supplementary Dictionary of Social Research Methods

This supplementary dictionary consists of entries focused on the specialized topic of social research methods, taken from Scott and Marshall’s A Dictionary of Sociology.

 

A Dictionary of Forensic Science

Forensic scientists apply scientific analysis in a legal context and play a vital role in solving crimes. Sometimes the collection of forensic evidence is the only way to establish or exclude an association between suspect and victim or crime scene, or to establish a likely order of events. Profiting from recent scientific developments and the advancement of technological equipment, forensic science is a rapidly evolving discipline that encompasses many sciences and the law.

 

Dictionary Plus Science and Technology

This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on scientific and technological topics of all kinds. These entries are supplementary to other science and technology titles in the Quick Reference collection and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.

 

Dictionary Plus Social Sciences

This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries relating to the social sciences—from politics, economics, and geography, to sociology, history, and psychology, among many other subjects. These entries are supplementary to other social science-related titles in the Quick Reference collection and are written by specialist authors. The dictionary is an ongoing project, and more entries will be added over time.