As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. The below Dictionaries can be found in the Oxford Reference Dictionary.
Note: For access to many of the Libguide resource links you will need to first login through the library's database page before accessing the link: Then scroll down to Oxford Reference link to access many of the resources listed on the page.
A Dictionary of Sports Studies
This is the brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies. It contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries compiled by Professor Alan Tomlinson, a leading expert in the field. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sportspeople, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices with lists of sporting events and winners, including the Summer and Winter Olympic Games.
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise
This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more.
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine (3 ed.)
This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Sports Personalities
This new Supplementary Dictionary of Sports Personalities contains biographical information on famous individuals from the world of sports. Spanning a wide range of sporting disciplines, including cricket, football, javelin, boxing, and bullfighting, this A–Z provides all the information you need on notable sportsmen and women such as Blanche Bingley, Brian Howard Clough, Mervyn Davies, José Gómez Ortega, Flo Hymann, Andy Irons, Jean Réné Lacoste, Sócrates, and many more.
A Dictionary of Business and Management (6 ed.)
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Now in its sixth edition, it features recent developments such as social media and peer-to-peer lending, as well as the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis.
A Dictionary of Business Research Methods
This accessible new dictionary provides clear and authoritative definitions of terms, approaches, and techniques in the area of business research methods. It covers research philosophies including research design and qualitative and quantitative methods, types of data and data collection techniques, and organizing and reporting research finding.
This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. Its entries clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.