Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English As A Second Language Guide: Aprenda Inglés: Activites, Quizzes, & Test Prep for ESL

Activities, Quizzes & More

Activities for ESL Students

English-only and bilingual vocabulary and grammar quizzes, tests, exercises, and puzzles.

BBC Learning English

An engaging, multimedia approach to learning. Features specially prepared news videos, an ongoing YouTube series called The Flatmates, and an audio series entitled Keep Your English Up To Date. Also included are listening and reading exercises, quizzes, message boards, and discussion groups.

Dave's ESL Cafe

A wide variety of ESL materials for students and teachers.

ESL Desk

A site for ESL students who want to learn English online. Includes vocabulary lists, grammar help, ESL quizzes, spelling tests, reading help tools, and more.

ESL Independent Study

Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. All Web sites are clearly annotated. Organization is by skill area and language level. Select the Fun and Games links for some fun language-learning activities.

Free English Lessons Online

Free ESL site with interactive word searches, crosswords,and grammar listening and vocabulary quizzes. Free worksheets for some topics and activities are also available to download. New topical content is uploaded to the site on a regular basis.

Interesting Things for ESL Students

Quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer-assisted learning activities for ESL students.

U.S.A. Learns

Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community.

Using English

A general English language site specializing in ESL, with a wide range of resources for learners and teachers of English.

Visiting the Doctor

If you have recently come to the United States from another country, a visit to the doctor can be a strange experience. This site provides activities to help you practice the language you need to get medical care.

Learning Express / PrepStep Overview

Learning Express / PrepStep Database

 

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library features online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more.

Recursos en Español
Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español. Este centro ofrece a los adultos que están muy ocupados los recursos para mejorar sus habilidades básicas, ganar sus credenciales de GED o ser ciudadano estadounidense.

Resources in Spanish (English Translation)
This center provides learning tools as well as career and citizenship resources to help busy adults improve their basic skills, earn a GED credential, or become a U.S. citizen.

Adult Core Skills
The Adult Core Skills center helps adults achieve their personal, education and career goals by offering resources to help them improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, and prepare for the U.S. citizenship exam.

 

 

Accessing the Database

In order to access the databases either on or off campus please follow these steps:

  1. Go to http://library.jcsu.edu/find/ and click on the title of the database you wish to access (Learning Express / PrepStep).
  2. Once you click on “Search Database” if you are off campus you will be redirected to a login page where you will log in with your JCSU email and your JCSU email password. If you are on campus, once you click "Search Database" you will be taken directly to the database homepage.

Test Preparation

COMPASS test: ESL sample questions

Sample questions for ESL Listening, ESL Reading, and ESL Grammar/Usage parts of the test.

ESL Independent Study

Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. All Web sites are clearly annotated. Organization is by skill area and language level. Select the TOEFL link for sites to help you with the TOEFL test.

TOEFL test preparation

Test-taking tips and free sample questions to help you become familiar with the format and content of the TOEFL