James B. Duke Memorial Library Databases
The James B. Duke Memorial Library provides access to a variety of e-books via our electronic resources databases. These subscription-based resources are offered to supplement the library’s print resources and to provide information that is necessary for research and information needs.
Access to databases is permitted within the library, as well as from any location on or off campus. However, due to licensing restrictions access to some electronic resources are limited to current JCSU students, faculty, and staff with valid user IDs and passwords.
How to Access the Databases On and Off Campus
In order to access the databases either on or off campus please follow these steps:
Please contact the Reference Desk at 704-371-6732 if you require assistance.
Introduction to Community and Public Health by
Learn the basics of the five core areas of community and public health Introduction to Community and Public Health covers the basics in each area of community and public health as identified by the Association of Schools of Public Health. In a student-friendly approach, authors Manoj Sharma, Paul W. Branscum, and Ashutosh Atri discuss epidemiology, biostatistics, social and behavioral sciences, environmental health, and healthy policy and management. Written to serve both graduate and undergraduate public health students, as well as to help prepare for the Certified in Public Health (CPH) exam, Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) exam and Master certified in Health Education Specialist (MCHES) exam, the book covers each of these five core disciplines, plus other important topics such as: Population dynamics and control Air, water, and noise pollution, and other environmental issues Program planning, budgeting, management, and evaluation Systems thinking and leadership in community and public health Students will gain insight into the descriptive, inferential, and analytical aspects of community and public health, as well as models, methods, and theories in health education and health promotion. Introduction to Community and Public Health provides the foundation necessary to build the skills of tomorrow's community and public health leaders.
American Health by
The third edition of American Health: Demographics and Spending of Health Care Consumers provides a comprehensive look at the demographics of health care consumers and the services they use, ranging from fish oil supplements to mammograms, from doctor visits to birth control pills.American Health includes detailed health care spending data from the federal government's highly respected Consumer Expenditure Survey and the less well-known Medical Expenditure Panel Survey. It presents data on health care coverage and the reasons why people do not have health insurance. It has information on the growing girth of the population, in pounds and percentages. It examines teen attitudes toward sex and teen and adult use of contraception. It explores the changing attitudes of Americans toward the role of the federal government in providing health care in the United States.American Health is divided into 14 chapters, each examining a different facet of health care. The topics are Addictions, Aging, Alternative Medicine, Attitudes toward Health Care, Births, Coverage and Cost, Deaths, Disability, Diseases and Conditions, Health Care Visits, Hospital Care, Mental Health, Sexual Attitudes and Behavior, and Weight and Exercise. Each chapter includes tables showing the demographics of health care consumers as well as explanatory text and charts revealing the most important trends.
Public Health in Appalachia by
The Appalachian region of the United States sees hunger, poverty, disability, preventable illness and premature death in disproportionally high numbers. Yet, Appalachia also knows the quiet strength of people working together to lift one another up as a community. In this collection of essays, health professionals explore how clinics and communities address the barriers to healthcare that continue to plague this underserved region and discuss theoretical perspectives about Appalachian healthcare. Topics include regional dental care, cancer and diabetes treatment, the integration of primary care and behavioral health, telehealth, the importance of "patient responsibility," and the effects of faith, fatalism and family dynamics on the health of Appalachian youth. Avoiding simplification and stereotype while presenting data, analysis and anecdotes, this volume gives a detailed picture of Appalachia's complex and multi-faceted public health challenges. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides a definitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines the ethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy models and their effect on the future development of global health and policy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in all areas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global health policy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures both the ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensions involved with global health policy, global health policy formation and its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'who gets what and why' and 'how, when and where?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars and practitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, to ensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
Understanding Health Inequalities and Justice by
The need for informed analyses of health policy is now greater than ever. The twelve essays in this volume show that public debates routinely bypass complex ethical, sociocultural, historical, and political questions about how we should address ideals of justice and equality in health care. Integrating perspectives from the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and public health, this volume illuminates the relationships between justice and health inequalities to enrich debates. Understanding Health Inequalities and Justice explores three questions: How do scholars approach relations between health inequalities and ideals of justice? When do justice considerations inform solutions to health inequalities, and how do specific health inequalities affect perceptions of injustice? And how can diverse scholarly approaches contribute to better health policy? From addressing patient agency in an inequitable health care environment to examining how scholars of social justice and health care amass evidence, this volume promotes a richer understanding of health and justice and how to achieve both. The contributors are Judith C. Barker, Paula Braveman, Paul Brodwin, Jami Suki Chang, Debra DeBruin, Leslie A. Dubbin, Sarah Horton, Carla C. Keirns, J. Paul Kelleher, Nicholas B. King, Eva Feder Kittay, Joan Liaschenko, Anne Drapkin Lyerly, Mary Faith Marshall, Carolyn Moxley Rouse, Jennifer Prah Ruger, and Janet K. Shim.
Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Welfare by
The third edition of Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Welfare provides new and more established ways to approach community building and organizing, from collaborating with communities on assessment and issue selection to using the power of coalition building, media advocacy, and social media to enhance the effectiveness of such work. With a strong emphasis on cultural relevance and humility, this collection offers a wealth of case studies in areas ranging from childhood obesity to immigrant worker rights to health care reform. A "tool kit" of appendixes includes guidelines for assessing coalition effectiveness, exercises for critical reflection on our own power and privilege, and training tools such as "policy bingo." From former organizer and now President Barack Obama to academics and professionals in the fields of public health, social work, urban planning, and community psychology, the book offers a comprehensive vision and on-the-ground examples of the many ways community building and organizing can help us address some of the most intractable health and social problems of our times. Dr. Minkler's course syllabus: Although Dr. Minkler has changed the order of some chapters in the syllabus to accommodate guest speakers and help students prep for the midterm assignment she uses, she arranged the actual book layout in a way that should flow quite naturally if instructors wish to use it in the order in which chapters appear.
Health Program Management by
Learn how to effectively plan, implement, and evaluate health programs Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition is a practical and useful introduction to the management of health programs. While providing an overview of the current best practices in management, the textbook goes beyond simple management techniques, teaching students how to develop, lead, and evaluate their programs to ensure quality outcomes. The focus is on the three core management concepts of strategy, design, and leadership, but time is also devoted to describing facilitative management activities integral to successful programs. Students will learn techniques for communication, decision-making, quality assurance, marketing, and program evaluation within the structure of the book's program management model. Logically organized with a separate chapter for each activity, this resource provides a thorough, systematic overview of the effective development, implementation, and evaluation of health programs. Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition provides a comprehensive approach to management throughout all stages of a health program. Learn to develop a strategy that steers the program toward specific goals Discover how to design, market, and lead an effective health program Become familiar with the manager's role in a quality health program Evaluate potential and existing programs for performance and capability Students and aspiring managers and leaders preparing themselves for the challenges of managing health programs will find the information and techniques to develop the skills they need in Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition.
Challenges and Successes in Reducing Health Disparities by
In early 2007, the Institute of Medicine convened the Roundtable on Health Disparities to increase the visibility of racial and ethnic health disparities as a national problem, to further the development of programs and strategies to reduce disparities, to foster the emergence of leadership on this issue, and to track promising activities and developments in health care that could lead to dramatically reducing or eliminating disparities. The Roundtable's first workshop, Challenges and Successes in Reducing Health Disparities, was held in St. Louis, Missouri, on July 31, 2007, and examined the importance of differences in life expectancy within the United States, the reasons for those differences, and the implications of this information for programs and policy makers.
Community Health Narratives by 
Introduction to Health Promotion by
Understand the foundations and applications of health promotion Introduction to Health Promotion gives students a working knowledge of health promotion concepts and methods and their application to health and health behaviors, with a special emphasis on the philosophical and theoretical foundations of health promotion. The textbook also identifies and discusses the innovative health campaigns, strategies, and policies being implemented and enacted to improve health behaviors and practices that ultimately improve quality of life. Written by a professor with more than two decades of experience teaching and researching health promotion, this comprehensive resource goes beyond the basics, delving into issues such as the application of behavior change theories, planning models, and current wellness topics like nutrition, physical activity, and emotional well-being, among others. Provides a clear introduction to the most essential topics in health promotion and education Explains behavior change theories and program planning models Explores health promotion's role tackling issues of stress, tobacco use, eating behaviors, and physical activity Includes chapters dedicated to professions, settings, and credentials available in the health promotion field Looks at future trends of health promotion Ideal for students in health promotion, health education, and public health fields, Introduction to Health Promotion prepares students with a comprehensive overview of the foundations, history, and current perspectives of health promotion, as well as its key methods and applications.
Drugs by
With the aim of showing how educators can use their skills to inform practical action on problematic drug issues, this text identifies the drug issues emerging in the classroom and highlights strategies for dealing with them.
Environmental Health Law by
This important resource offers a comprehensive overview of the major U.S. environmental laws and approaches, strategies, standards, and enforcement techniques by which American law protects our environment and our health. Written for the non-lawyer, the book puts the spotlight on general concepts that go a long way to demystify the American legal system (what law consists of, who makes it, how it is made, and how it is enforced). The authors also introduce the major environmental laws and evaluate issues, controversies and developments in environmental policy.
Healthcare Management by
Healthcare Management, second edition provides a comprehensive, research-based introduction to healthcare management. Designed for postgraduate students, healthcare professionals and practising managers, the book takes an international perspective and draws links between the theory and practice of healthcare management and how best practice might be achieved within healthcare systems.
Nutrition by
Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; ; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th