Connect Core Concepts in Health by
The most reliable and widely used personal health text, Connect Core Concepts in Health utilizes the theme of personal responsibility to teach and motivate students about health and wellness. The twelfth edition provides current, accurate, scientifically based information about a wealth of health and wellness topics and issues.
Connect Core Concepts in Health by
2 COPIES AVAILABLE
The most reliable and widely used personal health text, Connect Core Concepts in Health utilizes the science behind health to teach and motivate students about their wellness. The thirteenth edition provides current, accurate, scientifically based information about a wealth of health and wellness topics and issues.
The Last Dance by
The best-selling textbook in its field, The Last Dance offers an interdisciplinary approach to the study of death and dying. Integrating the experiential, scholarly, social, individual, emotional, and intellectual dimensions of death and dying, this acclaimed text provides solid grounding in theory and research, as well as practical application to students' lives. The ninth edition has been updated to offer cutting-edge and comprehensive coverage of death studies.
Connect Core Concepts in Health, Brief, Loose-Leaf Edition by
The most reliable and widely used personal health text, Connect Core Concepts in Health utilizes the science behind health to teach and motivate students about their wellness. The thirteenth edition provides current, accurate, scientifically based information about a wealth of health and wellness topics and issues. The 13th edition’s online program is now seamlessly and deeply integrated with Blackboard and Blackboard related course management systems. Featuring interactive multimedia-driven activities and assessments, such as quizzes, video activities, health assessments, Internet research activities, online behavior change workbook, a fitness and nutrition log, and a multimedia eBook, this program is perfect for any hybrid or online course. Most activities and assessments are auto graded, entered into the grade book, and automatically uploaded to blackboard. This saves you time, holds your students accountable, and allows for seamless Course Management integration.
Wellness by
Wellness: Concepts and Applications uses the basic precepts of the wellness movement-- personal responsibility, behavior change and risk reduction, and health-care consumer awareness--to introduce students to the health- and wellness-related information they need to thrive in today's world. The authors provide accurate, scientifically based information on wellness topics as well as assessment activities and other tools for behavior change. The authors also provide a balance among the seven dimensions of wellness while at the same time emphasizing the central roles of physical fitness, nutrition, avoidance of tobacco, and stress management as keys to a healthy life. Other fitness and wellness topics include body composition, flexibility, safety, drugs, STDs, chronic diseases, and more. Accompanying the text are instructor and student resources on the Online Learning Center.
Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education by
An introduction to the emerging profession of health promotion and education. The text covers the roles and responsibilities of health educators, the settings where health educators are employed and the ethics of the profession.
Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education by
For courses in Health Education/Promotion/Planning (Health & Kinesiology). A solid foundation in the issues of health education and promotion, and a solid connection to the research, resources, and people involved Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education has what it takes to connect to research, resources, and practitioners in health education/promotion, while gaining a solid foundation in the history, philosophy, theory, and ethics of health education.
Nutrition for Life by
Nutrition for Life capitalizes on readers' natural interest in nutrition by demonstrating how nutrition relates to their health. A unique aspect of the book is its presentation of nutrients based on function, rather than chemical classification. The book offers a chapter on vitamins and one on minerals, but within these chapters micro-nutrients are organized based on their functions within the body (tissue guardians, antioxidants, energy generators, essential electrolytes, mineral power plants, blood fortifiers, bone builders), enabling students to think about micro-nutrients on a conceptual level.
Our Sexuality by
This is the most respected and authoritative college textbook available on human sexuality. Written in a direct, non-judgmental manner, this edition of OUR SEXUALITY has been thoroughly and carefully updated to reflect the most current research findings. It is the first college text to bring cutting-edge and in-depth emphasis on the impact of politics on sexuality. Crooks and Baur keep you interested with the most exciting, emerging research and coverage, and focus on strengthening healthy communication among partners. The authors also have revised their overall coverage on maintaining a responsible and healthy sexual relationship, with greater attention to diversity and inclusiveness.
Our Sexuality by
This is the most respected and authoritative college textbook available on human sexuality. Written in a direct, non-judgmental manner, this edition of OUR SEXUALITY has been thoroughly and carefully updated to reflect the most current research findings. It is the first college text to bring cutting-edge and in-depth emphasis on the impact of politics on sexuality. Crooks and Baur keep you interested with the most exciting, emerging research and coverage, and focus on strengthening healthy communication among partners. The authors also have revised their overall coverage on maintaining a responsible and healthy sexual relationship, with greater attention to diversity and inclusiveness.
An Introduction to Community Health by
An Introduction to Community Health, Seventh Edition, has been updated to reflect the latest trends and statistics in community health. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organization, program planning, minority health, health care, mental health, environmental health, drugs, safety, and occupational health. Short scenarios, key terminology, marginal definitions, and web activities are included in each chapter to make this an accessible and reader-friendly resource for the beginning community health student.
(Description courtesy of Amazon.com)
Health by
NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. For Personal Health Courses. This package includes MasteringHealth (tm). Bringing interactivity to readers' fingertips Health: The Basics, MasteringHealth Edition focuses health coverage on real-world topics that have the greatest impact on readers' lives, keeping individuals hooked on learning and living well. Along with dynamic new interactive content and media, this book retains its hallmarks of currency, accessibility, cutting-edge research, focus on behavior change, attractive design, imaginative art, and unique mini-chapters. The Twelfth Edition addresses readers' diverse needs and learning styles by tightly weaving online assignable activities into the narrative in the text. Every chapter includes Learning Outcomes and a new study plan that ties directly into MasteringHealth activities. Assignable self-assessments and reading quizzes help instructors engage individuals in the material. 0134161009 / 9780134161006 The Basics, The MasteringHealth Edition Plus MasteringHealth with eText -- Access Card Package, 12/e Package consists of: 0134183266 / 9780134183268 Health: The Basics, The MasteringHealth Edition 0134245687 / 9780134245683 MasteringHealth with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Health: The Basics, The MasteringHealth Edition
Health by
This ninth edition provides students with the tools they need to make healthy, lifelong behaviour changes and become informed consumers of health information. The text hold students' interest by covering health topics of primary concern to them.
Drugs, Society and Human Behavior by
Drugs, Society and Human Behavior provides the latest information on drug use and its effects on society as well as on the individual. Trusted for more than 30 years by both instructors and students, this authoritative resource examines drugs and drug use from a variety of perspectives--behavioral, pharmacological, historical, social, legal, and clinical. The 15th edition includes the very latest information and statistics and many new timely topicsand issues have been added that are sure to pique students' interest and stimulate class discussion. Accompanying the text are instructor and student resources on the Online Learning Center.
Health Education by
This state-of-the art health education methods book provides a broad introduction to successful school health programming to reduce health risks and promote school success. The text emphasizes the skills needed to teach health, while providing background information on key health topics. This practical approach prepared pre-service elementary and middle school teachers to provide quality health instruction. All the suggested teaching activities are aligned with the National Health Education Standards and include sample assessment strategies. .
Minority Populations and Health by
"The text is state-of-the-art in its analysis of health disparities from both domestic and international perspectives. Minority Populations and Health: An Introduction to Health Disparities in the United States is a welcome addition to the field because it widens access to the complex issues underlying the health disparities problem. "-- Preventing Chronic Disease/CDC, October 2005 "This is a very comprehensive, evidence-based book dealing with the health disparities that plague the United States. This is a welcome and valuable addition to the field of health care for minority groups in the United States."-- Doody′s Publishers Bulletin, August 2005 "Health isn t color-blind. Racial minorities disproportionately suffer from some diseases, but experts say race alone doesn t completely account for the disparities. Newsweek′s Jennifer Barrett Ozols spoke with Thomas LaVeist, director of the Center for Health Disparities Solutions at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and author of the upcoming book, "Minority Populations and Health: An Introduction to Health Disparities in the U.S." (Jossey-Bass) about race and medicine. "-- MSNBC/Newsweek interview with author Thomas L. LaVeist, February 2005 "The book is readable and organized to be quickly read with specifics readily retrievable. It is comprehensive and visual."-- Journal of the American Medical Association, September 2005 Minority Populations and Health is a textbook that offers a complete foundation in the core issues and theoretical frameworks for the development of policy and interventions to address race disparities in health-related outcomes. This book covers U.S. health and social policy, the role of race and ethnicity in health research, social factors contributing to mortality, longevity and life expectancy, quantitative and demographic analysis and access, and utilization of health services. Instructors material available at http://www.minorityhealth.com
Death and Dying, Life and Living by
Copy held is Death & Dying Life & Living Instructor's Edition.
Practical and inspiring, this field-leading book helps students learn how to navigate encounters with death, dying, and bereavement. The authors integrate classical and contemporary material, present task-based approaches for individual and family coping, and include four substantial chapters devoted to death-related issues faced by children, adolescents, young and middle-aged adults, and older adults. The book discusses a variety of cultural and religious perspectives that affect people's understanding and practices associated with such encounters. Practical guidelines for constructive communication are designed to encourage productive living in the face of death.
The Last Dance by
The best-selling textbook in its field, The Last Dance offers an interdisciplinary approach to the study of death and dying. Integrating the experiential, scholarly, social, individual, emotional, and intellectual dimensions of death and dying, this acclaimed text provides solid grounding in theory and research, as well as practical application to students' lives. The ninth edition has been updated to offer cutting-edge and comprehensive coverage of death studies.
Understanding Environmental Health by
This innovative text takes a unique approach to presenting environmental health. Rather than organizing topics around the traditional regulatory fields (air and water pollution, hazardous wastes, radiation, etc.), this book is structured around the choices we make as individuals and societies that result in environmental health hazards. The author details the hazards of energy production, industry, food production, and the modern lifestyle, while exploring our place within the local and global community. Unlike other texts of its kind, Understanding Environmental Health: How We Live in the World, Second Edition tells a connected narrative, making the text engaging and accessible to a broad range of students with a variety of scientific backgrounds. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that incorporates updates to scientific understanding, changes in practice and policy, and important events of recent years. Key Features of the Second Edition: * Offers a concise introduction to environmental health while providing all the essential information about the classic regulatory domains and core competencies in this important field. * Presents a connected narrative, with chapters on the various choices we make that create environmental health hazards--living together with other species; producing energy, material goods, and food; and living in communities, from both a local and global perspective. * Includes learning objectives and study questions in each chapter, as well as an extensive glossary of over 500 terms that have been highlighted throughout the text. Instructor Resources: Instructors Manual, PowerPoint Slides, Test Bank Student Resources: Companion Website
Teaching Today's Health by
This book is a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of health and wellness, with strategies for teaching health education in elementary and middle schools.
Health Literacy from A to Z by
Health Literacy From A to Z, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles. Doody's Review Service, 5 Stars, Score 100! AWARDS for The Second Edition: Two-time winner of New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association awards: 2012 Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication 2012 Neil Duane Award of Distinction 2012 Medical Book Awards: Honorable Mention in the Non-Physicians category Clear communication of your health message can make all the difference in effective patient care. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition is an easy to use handbook designed for the busy health professional. Filled with ideas and strategies that can be used in everyday practice, Health Literacy from A to Z is a first-of-its-kind resource. Learn the key principles and strategies of effective health communication presented in a simple, informal manner by one of the nation's leading experts in health literacy. Whether you are a physician, nurse, pharmacist, allied health professional, case manager, public health specialist, practice manager, health care educator, student or family caregiver this book is for you. Instructor Resources include a Sample Syllabus and PowerPoint Presentations. What's New in the Second Edition of Health Literacy from A to Z The Second Edition is updated and revised to reflect current health literacy research and practice with new information about timely health literacy topics. This edition has 14 new chapters including 4 chapters about "Technology" and 7 chapters focused on "Know Your Audience." Highlights * "Starting Points" with an introduction to key information. * "Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions" with lots of practical, how-to tips. * "Stories from Practice" showcasing real-life experiences from a wide range of perspectives to help make key points come alive. * "Sources to Learn More" including an extensive list of books, articles, websites, podcasts, and other resources. New Topics * Business Side of Health Literacy * Communicating When Patients Feel Scared, Sick, and Overwhelmed * General Public: Talking with Patients about What They Learn from the Media * Organizational Efforts, Advocacy, and Collaborations * Regulatory and Legal Language * Website Writing * Blogs and Social Media * Audio Podcasts * Email and Text Messages * Interactive Multimedia * Sections focusing on, "Know Your Audience" with in-depth information about: Children and Youth Emotions and Cognition Hearing Loss Language and Culture Literacy Older Adults Vision Problems The First Edition was the 2006 Winner of the New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association, Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication!
Global Health 101 by
Rated by an independent panel as the best introductory Global Health text for undergraduates, Global Health 101, Third Edition is a clear, concise, and user-friendly introduction to the most critical issues in global health. It illustrates key themes with an extensive set of case studies, examples, and the latest evidence. Particular attention is given to the health-development link, to developing countries, and to the health needs of poor and disadvantaged people. The Third Edition is a thorough revision that offers an extensive amount of new and updated information, while maintaining clarity, simplicity, and ease of use for faculty and students. Offering the latest data on the burden of disease, the book presents unique content on key topics that are often insufficiently covered in introductory materials, such as immunization and adolescent health. Key Features: * New chapter on Adolescent Health--an important but largely uncovered topic in the existing Global Health literature * Expanded chapter on Child Health with special attention given to immunizations * Expanded coverage throughout on the topic of health disparities * The latest information on nutrition including the Global Nutrition Report of November 2014 and the Lancet Series on Maternal and Child Nutrition of 2013 * New section on Pharmaceuticals * More than 25 additional "Policy and Program" briefs that cover a range of key topics Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access with: A comprehensive, interactive eBook with embedded video links, knowledge checks and end-of-chapter quizzes Interactive practice activities including study questions Pre-loaded assessments including chapter quizzes, mid-terms, and a final exam. An expansive package of instructor materials including: sample syllabi, model policy briefs, a case study for discussion for each of the core chapters of the book, and an extensive bibliography of global health references organized by chapter.