Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health: Databases & Journals

This guide provides a list of resources for the Public Health program.

Accessing JCSU Library Databases

James B. Duke Memorial Library Databases

The James B. Duke Memorial Library provides access to a variety of electronic resources via our databases. These subscription-based resources are offered to supplement the library’s print resources and to provide information that is necessary for research and information needs.

Access to databases is permitted within the library, as well as from any location on or off campus. However, due to licensing restrictions access to some electronic resources are limited to current JCSU students, faculty, and staff with valid user ID’s and passwords.

 

How to Access the Databases On and Off Campus

In order to access the databases either on or off campus please follow these steps:​

  1. From the homepage (library.jcsu.edu), choose Services at the top of the page, then select Articles & Databases OR go to the Articles & Databases icon in the SELECT THE TYPE OF MATERIAL YOU WANT TO SEARCH section of the page.
  2. From the general list, choose the title of the database you would like to access. 
  3. If you are off campus you will be redirected to a login page where you will log in with your JCSU email and the your email password. Example: Email Address is jdoe.2020@mymail.jcsu.edu and password is ABcd_123.                                    

 

Please contact the Reference Desk at (704) 371-6732 if you require assistance. 

Using the Library Catalog to Find Articles

Journal Finder

Library Databases for the Public Health Program

Other Useful Databases

Health Journals with Full Access Through the Library Databases and Some Print

American Journal of Health Education: Filled with research findings, community learning strategies, and recent health promotion trends. The journal’s mission is to publish research manuscripts that focus on Health Education and Health Promotion interventions designed to prevent or delay the onset of the major chronic diseases and illnesses that impact populations of interest today.

American Journal of Health Promotion: A peer-reviewed journal advancing the science of health behavior change and the art of creating a culture of well-being. The journal aims to provide a forum for the many disciplines that contribute to health promotion and reduce the gap between health promotion research and practice by delivering the most current and relevant research in the field while addressing its practical application.

American Journal of Public Health: Dedicated to the publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The mission of the journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.

Journal of Health and Social Behavior: A medical sociology journal that publishes empirical and theoretical articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health and illness and the organization of medicine and health care.

Journal of Community Health Research: The Journal of Community Health Research (JCHR) is an online, Open Access, non-profit, and peer reviewed quarterly journal which publishes original papers in all areas of public health with the focus on community-related health issues, primary care, disease prevention, health promotion, environmental and occupational health, and social and economic aspects of public health. 

Journal of Primary Care & Community Health: A peer-reviewed, open access journal publishing evidence about the practice, impact and outcomes of primary care services and community health programs. Evidence in the form of hypothesis-testing studies is presented, either in the form of pilot projects or larger intervention projects.

Progress in Community Health Partnerships: A national, peer-reviewed journal whose mission is to identify and publicize model programs that use community partnerships to improve public health, promote progress in the methods of research and education involving community health partnerships, and stimulate action that will improve the health of people and communities.

Community Mental Health Journal: Devoted to the evaluation and improvement of public sector mental health services for people affected by severe mental disorders, serious emotional disturbances and/or addictions.

Public Health Reports: The official journal of the Office of the U.S. Surgeon General and the U.S. Public Health Service. It is published bimonthly. The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes original research and commentaries in the areas of public health practice and methodology, original research, public health law, and public health schools and teaching.

Bulletin of the World Health Organization: One of the world’s leading public health journals. It is a peer-reviewed monthly journal with a special focus on developing countries. It is essential reading for all public health decision-makers and researchers who require its special blend of research, well-informed opinion, and news.

Health Affairs: A leading journal of health policy thought and research. This peer-reviewed journal explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and healthcare and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.

Journal of Healthcare Management: The Journal of Healthcare Management is published six times per year and is the official journal of the American College of Healthcare Executives. The journal offers timely healthcare management articles that inform and guide executives, managers, educators, and researchers.