Citations and Library Resources: Professional Organizations

• American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

• American Marketing Association

• eMarketing Association

• European Association for Sports Management

• International Sports Management, Inc.

• National Sporting Goods Association

• North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM)

• Outdoor Industry Association

• Sport Information Resource Centre

• Sport Marketing Association

• Sporting Goods Manufacturers Association

Accounting & finance:

• American Bankers Association: Founded in 1875, the American Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes, supporting the nation’s banking industry and employees.
• The American Finance Association (AFA): The purpose of The American Finance Association is to promote the knowledge of financial economics.
• American Society of Women Accountants (ASWA): The American Society of Women Accountants (ASWA), formed in 1938, provides opportunities for women in all fields of accounting and finance.
• Association for Financial Professionals, Inc. (AFP): The Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) serves treasury and finance professionals.
• International Federation of Accountants (IFAC): IFAC is a global organization, representing 2.5 million accountants employed.
• National Association of Black Accountants: Since 1969, this group has strived to on promote and develop minority professionals in the fields of accounting and finance.
• The Professional Accounting Society of America (PASA): Since 2005, PASA has focused on entry-level and mid-level associates working at accounting firms across America.

Marketing:

• American Marketing Association (AMA): The American Marketing Association (AMA) is the largest marketing association in North America and is a resource that thousands of marketers utilize daily.
• eMarketing Association (eMA): The eMarketing Association (eMA) is the world's largest international association of eMarketing professionals, providing resources and services to the online marketing community.
• The National Association of Sales Professionals (NASP): Since 1991, The National Association of Sales Professionals (NASP) has been committed to developing sales professionals to become leaders in the ever-evolving sales world.
• Sales & Marketing Executives International (SMEI): Sales & Marketing Executives International (SMEI) is the worldwide organization dedicated to connecting individuals in the sales and marketing arenas.
• Social Media Club: Social Media Club is a professional organization that promotes social media literacy. They work to develop industry standards and provide members knowledge of industry trends in the cutting-edge field of social media marketing.

Business management & supply chain management:

• American Management Association: The AMA provides trainings and valuable resources to ensure business professionals stay knowledgeable in the competitive business world.
• American Production and Inventory Control Society (APICS): The American Production and Inventory Control Society (APICS) provides research and education and certification programs for supply chain and operations management professionals.
• DECA: This international, non-profit organization has been developing the business skills of college and high school students since 1946. DECA members have the opportunity to network with local business leaders and develop business skills through mock presentations and competitions.
• Entrepreneurs' Organization (EO): The Entrepreneurs' Organization (EO) is a global network working to enhance entrepreneurs’ abilities to be successful by learning and growing from each other’s knowledge and experience.

Human resources:

• The International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP): Founded in 1942, the International Association of Administrative Professionals provides administrative professionals opportunities for growth, networking, education and development.
• National Human Resources Association (NHRA): The National Human Resources Association (NHRA) was established in 1961 to support the professional development of human resource professionals.
• Professionals in Human Resources Association (PIHRA): Professionals in Human Resources Association, founded in 1944, provides human resources professionals the opportunity to collaborate in an effort to enhance the profession.
• The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM): SHRM is the world’s largest HR membership association and is dedicated to serving the needs of HR managers.

Healthcare management:

• American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM): AAHAM is the premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management. It’s become a resource for information, education and advocacy on issues and trends in healthcare management.
• The Professional Association of Health Care Office Management: This association is designed to focus on local healthcare concerns by networking with hospitals and medical organizations to help solve local problems.

American Chemical Society (ACS)  
ACS student chapters are organizations for undergraduate chemistry majors. Members participate in a wide range of programs and activities that enhance their college experience and prepare them for successful careers. Dues for ACS members are $25 per year for undergraduate students and $55 per year for graduate students.

American Mathematical Society (AMS)  
Students at all levels can benefit from AMS programs and services. In addition to offering an array of programs and opportunities for students, the AMS collects information about opportunities of interest to students in the mathematical sciences. Membership for undergraduate or graduate students costs $52 per year and covers career and professional development services that are provided through AMS.

Mathematical Association of America (MAA)  
MAA membership is your portal to the community of mathematicians and mathematical educators all focused on advancing mathematics at the collegiate level, and on providing you with opportunities to build your network of professionals and peers. Student membership costs $35 per year and includes full access to online subscriptions to all MAA journals, member discounts and much more.

American Society for Microbiology (ASM)  
The American Society for Microbiology is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world. The mission of the American Society for Microbiology is to advance the microbiological sciences as a vehicle for understanding life processes and to apply and communicate this knowledge for the improvement of health and environmental and economic well-being worldwide. ASM supports programs of education, training and public information; promotes the contributions and promise of the microbiological sciences; recognizes achievement and distinction among its practitioners; and sets standards of ethical and professional behavior. Student membership is $35 per year.

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)
FASEB’s members are scientific societies that share a common vision for the advancement of research and education in biological and biomedical sciences. There are 27 constituent societies and you can find more information about all of them on the FASEB website.

American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)
The American Institute of Biological Sciences was formed with a vision of bringing together the organizations and individuals that advance the biological sciences to work together on matters best addressed through united action. The AIBS is an organization that informs and leads research, education and policy making at the frontiers of the life sciences. AIBS listens, anticipates, advises, collaborates and, when needed, leads efforts in the life sciences community to address scientific and societal challenges. 

American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB)
ASCB is an inclusive, international community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life. ASCB is dedicated to advancing scientific discovery, advocating sound research policies, improving education, promoting professional development and increasing diversity in the scientific workforce. Membership in the ASCB is open to all research scientists, students, educators (high school, undergraduate and graduate level) and technicians who have education or research experience in cell biology or an allied field. Student membership is $26 per year. 

Society of Physics Students (SPS)
The Society of Physics Students is a professional association explicitly designed for students. Membership is open to anyone interested in physics. Besides physics majors, members of SPS include majors in chemistry, computer science, earth science, mathematics, and other fields. Membership dues for this society are $24 per year.

American Physical Society (APS)
APS is an advocate for research funding and science education, and provides scientific expertise on issues, such as energy and the environment and also informs the general public about physics. APS members benefit from many educational and diversity programs. Students enrolled full-time in an educational institution qualify for membership at the reduced rate of $25. And as a student, your first year of membership in APS is free.

IEEE Computer Society
When you join IEEE Computer Society as a student member, you become part of a vibrant technical community. You have opportunities to connect with people who share your interests. Student membership costs $20 per year. As a student member, you receive free, unlimited access to the Computer Society Digital Library—the authoritative source for everything in the computing universe. In addition, student members get free Microsoft software, a $2,000 value.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences and career resources. Student membership costs $19 per year.

American Geosciences Institute (AGI)
AGI is a federation of geoscience societies, which provides information and educational services to its members, promoting a united voice for the geoscience community. AGI consists of a number of member societies that are listed on the AGI website, which provides more detailed information about each society.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal, Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide. 

Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS)
SACNAS is a society of scientists dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Chicano and Native American scientists—from college students to professionals—to attain advanced degrees, careers and positions of leadership in science. The basic one-year membership for students costs $10 per year. 

Association for Women in Science (AWIS)
AWIS membership is open to all women and men who support equality for women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). An AWIS membership offers women in STEM a national and local platform to tap into the power of an already established community of women across all disciplines and employment sectors. The student membership is $35 per year. 

Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)  
The purpose of the Association for Women in Mathematics is to encourage women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and to promote equal opportunity and the equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences. Student membership costs $20 per year.

Animal Behavior Society (ABS)   
The ABS is a society that is targeted to individuals who are interested in forming a network of other animal behaviorists through research and conferences. Student membership costs $25 per year, which includes online access to the leading journal Animal Behavior, an international journal that contains research papers, commentaries, review articles and essays.

Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists (AEG)  
The Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists contributes to its members’ professional success and the public welfare by providing leadership, advocacy and applied research in environmental and engineering geology. AEG is the acknowledged international leader in environmental and engineering geology, and is greatly respected for its stewardship of the profession. AEG offers information on environmental and engineering geology, which is useful to practitioners, scientists, students and the public. Other geosciences organizations recognize the value of using and sharing AEG's outstanding resources. The membership in this society for full-time students is free.

National Science Teaching Association (NSTA)   
NSTA is an association that provides resources and professional development for students and professionals in the field of science education. The digital discounted student membership $40 per year. 

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)  
NCTM is an association that provides resources and professional development for students and professionals in the field of mathematics education. The student membership costs $49 and includes digital journal access, complimentary regional meeting registration, and a discount at the NCTM store