Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Entrepreneurship: Home

Library Entrepreneurial Research Hub

Welcome

Welcome to the James B. Duke Memorial Library's Entrepreneurship Research Guide. The James B. Duke Memorial Library, recently received funding from the Library State Technology Agency (LSTA) to create a Library Entrepreneur Research Hub to provide entrepreneur research support to all JCSU students, Faculty, and surrounding community members. Here you find valuable information for conducting research, writing a business plan, or just learning the basics about entrepreneurship. Across the top of this page are several tabs that help organize the information.

Business Magazines/Periodicals

BusinessWeek

Business News, Stock Market & Financial Advice

Black Enterprise

CIO

Information for chief information officers and other IT leaders.

Economist.com

Many articles available on the magazine website.

Entrepreneur.com

Articles, blogs and other information for those starting businesses.

Fast Company Magazine

Magazine focused on innovation and change.

Forbes

Fortune

Inc.

Aimed at entrepreneurs.

The Plug Daily

Daily tech newsletter covering black startups, founders, and innovators

Some key databases for entrepreneurship research

Entrepreneurship Database

Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

 

Entrepreneurial Mindset Training Course

This online, self-paced course will help you recognize opportunities that others overlook and determine whether starting a business is right for you.

 

Virtual Chase: Company Information Guide

Intended as a site to assist persons in the legal profession perform business research, this is another good site for links to company information and guide to doing Legal Research.

 

ABI/INFORM Complete

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

 

Business Link North Carolina

An archival database of older scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. This is a full text database, and contains complete backfiles of core journals starting with first issues, many of which date back to the 1800s. Most titles published within the last 2-5 years are not included.

 

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete

Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.

 

Canadian Newsstream

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada’s leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

 

Business Market Research Collection

Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles – covering more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch – succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports – covering global industries; and Snapshots – market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Accounting & Tax Database

National and international information on the financial services industry, including banking trends, products, companies, issues, and operations.