Author's name. (Year of publication). Book title italicized. Publisher's name. DOI or URL (if available)
Example: Mitchell, T. R. (1987). People in organizations: An introduction to organizational
behavior. McGraw-Hill.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Mitchell, 1987)
Narrative Citation Example: Mitchell (1987)
Authors' names. (Year of Publication). Book title italicized. Publisher's name. DOI or URL (if available)
Example: Beck, C. A. J., & Sales, B. D. (2001). Family mediation: Facts, myths, and future
prospects. American Psychological Association.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Beck & Sales, 2001)
Narrative Citation Example: Beck and Sales (2001)
All authors' names. (Year of publication). Book title italicized. Publisher's name. DOI or URL (if available)
Example: Daniels, H., Garner, P., & Jones, C. (1999). Inclusive education. Kogan Page.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Daniels et al., 1999)
Narrative Citation Example: Daniels et al. (1999)
NOTE: Up to 20 authors should be included in a reference list entry. When there are more than 20 authors, list the first 19 and the additional authors' names are replaced with an ellipsis (…) followed by the final listed author's name.
Author's name. (Year of publication). Book title. Publisher's name.
Sort by date, oldest first.
Example:
Hemingway, E. (1929). A farewell to arms. Scribner.
Hemingway, E. (1952). Old man and the sea. Scribner.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Hemingway, 1929)
Narrative Citation Example: Hemingway (1929)
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Hemingway, 1952)
Narrative Citation Example: Hemingway (1952)
Author's name. (Year of publication). Book title. Publisher's name.
Examples:
Hemingway, E. (1926). The sun also rises. Scribner.
Hemingway, E. (1926). The torrents of spring. Scribner.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Hemingway, 1926a)
Narrative Citation Example: Hemingway (1926a)
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Hemingway, 1926b)
Narrative Citation Example: Hemingway (1926b)
N.B: "When multiple references have an identical author (or authors) and publication year, include a lowercase letter after the year. These letters are assigned when the references are placed in order in the reference list (alphabetically by title, following the guidelines in Section 9.47).
The year–letter combination is used in both the in-text citation and the reference list entry."
https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/citations/basic-principles/same-year-author
Editors' names (Eds.). (Year of publication). Book title. Publisher's name.
Example: Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. N. (Eds.). (1991). Children of color: Psychological interventions
with minority youth. Jossey-Bass.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation Example: (Gibbs & Huang, 1991)
Narrative Citation Example: Gibbs and Huang (1991)
Note:
If you have more than one editor list their name(s) after the first editor listed in the book, giving their initials and last name. Before the last editor's name put an ampersand (&).
When you have one editor the short form (Ed.) is used after the editor's name. If you have more than one editor use (Eds.) instead.
Title in author position. (Year of publication). Publisher's name.
Example: Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (10th ed.). (1993). Merriam-Webster.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical Citation: (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 1993)
Narrative Citation: Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (1993)
An authored book is one in which the same person has written all the chapters.
NOTE: If you used information from one chapter of an authored book, write a reference for the whole book, do not write a reference list entry for only a chapter in an authored book.
Author names. (Year of publication). Title of book. Publisher. DOI or URL (if available)
Example: Dym, B., & Hutson, H. (2005). Leadership in nonprofit organizations. Sage Publications.
Cited in text:
Parenthetical citation: (Dym & Hutson, 2005)
Narrative citation: Dym and Hutson (2005)
Author names. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In Editors' Names (Eds.), Title of
book (pp.). Publisher.
Example: Wood, R., Hall, D. M., & Hasian, M., Jr. (2008). Globalization, social justice movements, and
the human genome diversity debates: A case study in health activism. In H. M. Zoller
& M. J. Dutta (Eds.), Emerging perspectives in health communication: Meaning,
culture, and power (pp. 431-446). Routledge.
Cited in text: (Wood et al, 2008)
Note:
If you have more than one editor list their name(s) after the first editor listed in the book, giving their initials and last name. Before the last editor's name put an ampersand (&).
When you have one editor the short form (Ed.) is used after the editor's name. If you have more than one editor use (Eds.) instead.
Editor or lead editor et al. (Eds.). (Year of publication). Title (Edition, number of volumes). Publisher.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of book (ed). Publisher name.
Example: Sadie, S., & Tyrell, J. (Eds.). (2002). The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (2nd
ed., Vols. 1-10). Macmillan.
Cited in text: (Sadie & Tyrell, 2002)
Author of entry. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In title of encyclopedia (Vol. #, pp.). Publication information.
Example: Bergmann, P. G. (1993). Relativity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp. 501-
508). Chicago, IL: Encylopedia Brittanica.
Cited in text: (Bergmann, 1993).
Author's Name. (Year). Title of entry. In Dictionary/encyclopedia name. Retrieval date (month day, year), from URL
Example:
Oxford University Press. (n.d). Duplicitous. In Oxford English Dictionary. Retrieved January 6, 2022, from https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/242637?rskey=Ml5P3Z&result=1&isAdvanced=false#eid
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Duplicitous. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 6, 2022, from hhttps://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/duplicitous
Cited in text:
Author. (Year of publication). Title of book. [Electronic version]. Retrieved from URL.
Example: Peterson, B., & Carco, D. (1998). The smart way to buy information technology:
How to maximize value and avoid costly pitfalls [NetLibrary version]. Retrieved from
http://www.netlibrary.com
Cited in text: (Peterson, 1998)
Author. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In editor's name (Ed.) [if applicable], Title of book
(pp. xx-xx) [Electronic version]. Retrieved from URL.
Example: Young, M.D. (2003). Troubling policy discourse: Gender, constructions, and the leadership
crisis. In M.D. Young & L. Skrla (Eds.), Reconsidering feminist research in educational
leadership (pp. 265-298) [NetLibrary version]. Retrieved from
http://www.netlibrary.com
Cited in text: (Young, 2003)