Library Databases

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers. Full-text analyses include market and industry reports. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting, banking, and tax issues.

Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.

Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.

Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.

APA PsycNET® creates an intuitive feature-rich content discovery environment unlike anything else in the behavioral and social sciences. Developed and engineered by APA, this powerful platform uniquely integrates the Thesaurus of Psychological Terms® so users can discover vital research content with ease and unrivaled precision.

Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout Asia and Europe.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.

Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.

Britannica Online Academic Edition is a combination of the insightful Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources for thorough research.

Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles – covering more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch – succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports – covering global industries; and Snapshots – market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada’s leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

Full-text database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women’s health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Easy-to-use résumé building tool with a built-in writing process and automatic formatting. Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.

Formerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.

The Earth, Atmospheric Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.

Nonfiction titles for exploration and research, with topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

EBSCO offers over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional e-book and audiobook titles from leading publishers.

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.

This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.

This online, self-paced course will help you recognize opportunities that others overlook and determine whether starting a business is right for you.

Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Thousands of high quality videos from travel and fitness programming, to home and how-to videos, indie films, popular music performances, documentaries, and curriculum-based educational videos.

Searchable collection of online reference titles and test prep ebooks.

A biography database which merges Gale’s authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Includes more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.

GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 155 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals is included.

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection with Over 133,386 stories from oral history interviews with 2,466 historically significant African Americans as of February 20, 2018.

A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Search Journal Finder to determine if JCSU provides print or electronic access to a specific journal title. Contains direct links to full-text articles when available.

A digital archive of full-text academic and scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

An online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.

The collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.

Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.

Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.

Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they’re diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. For doctors and medical students.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.

Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.

Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.

Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).

Women’s writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

A readers advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.

Open Education North Carolina Collection contains free, open textbooks that have been curated for the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina’s 2 and 4-year colleges and universities. Faculty can adopt these open educational resources (OER) to save their students money and lower the overall cost of higher education.

A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.

Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.

Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.

62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).