Social Work Program Resources: Books

Group Work with Populations a Risk, Fourth Edition is a fundamental resource for practitioners in health and mental health settings and a comprehensive guidebook of group work skills. Geared toward students and professionals gaining a beginning understanding of groups, this volume describeshow to work with vulnerable populations. The first chapters, new additions to this edition and written by a new co-editor, provide overarching skills and techniques that apply across group work settings and populations. These skills, along with case examples, provide a template for practice withgroups. The vulnerable populations that are addressed include returning war veterans, immigrants, the aging and their caregivers, children and adults who have been abused, and people struggling with substance abuse issues, cancer, and chronic mental illness. New chapters have been added forsurvivors of sex trafficking, children in need of social skills training, people who experienced intimate partner violence, parents who are homeless, and fathers who are incarcerated. Each chapter (designed to stand alone for easy reference) describes the population and reviews the relevantliterature, identifies themes and practice principles, presents case illustrations, provides evaluation guidance, and refers readers to key references and web resources.

This Fourth Edition of Intimate Violence and Abuse in Families updates a best-selling core text in the field of intimate violence and child maltreatment. New features include: a "Global Perspectives" call-out box for each of the chapters that explore an aspect of research, policy, and practiceglobally or in another nation; and a separate chapter that examines forms of intimate partner violence other than male-to-female. Bidirectional intimate partner violence and female-to-male violence remain contentious topics in the field of intimate partner violence and rarely receive extensivecoverage in books or texts; Chapter 7 includes a new examination of brain and behavior research and theory as it can be applied to intimate partner violence. Further, Chapter 8 adds a much-expanded examination of the most important federal policies pertaining to child welfare and child maltreatment.The inclusion of all forms of relationship and intimate violence continues to be a distinctive feature of the book, which is a must-have for both undergraduate and graduate students studying social work, family studies, criminology, nursing, sociology, and/or psychology.

Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0134057511.   Introduction to Social Work by Michelle Martin is designed to help readers understand the role and function of social workers within the context of a range of social service practice settings-child welfare, adolescence, older adults, mental health, homelessness, health care and hospice, school social work, religion and spirituality, violence and victim advocacy, and international social work. In it, readers learn to recognize a range of social problems impacting people within society, particularly members of at-risk and disenfranchised populations; understand key psychosocial and clinical issues impacting a range of populations within various theoretical frameworks; and apply key intervention strategies to case studies involving frequently encountered social problems and psychosocial issues. The text is consistent with the new CSWE EPAS, emphasizes ethical practice by infusing the NASW Code of Ethics throughout, integrates the use of technology, explores the role of religion and spirituality in the helping process, and examines social policy and legislation through a comprehensive history of related federal policy and legislation. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video and assessments.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.  

Praise for the First Edition: "This book is an optimal tool for instructors and students of graduate classes in social work and related disciplines." Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health "This book is a major contribution to social workers and their clients as it addresses advocacy on behalf of immigrants and refugees during a social, economic, and political period that restricts immigrants' rights and service access." Dr. Diane Drachman, Associate Professor University of Connecticut School of Social Work "This text is a great tool toward raising awareness of the many issues immigrants face, and helping them find solutions." Frank Sharry, Executive Director, America's Voice The leading textbook on social work with immigrants and refugees, this is the only book to address the intersection of legal, policy, and advocacy issues, in addition to the clinical skills needed to help these populations. This second edition has been updated to reflect key policy changes at the state and federal levels affecting social work with immigrants and refugees. The authors have expanded their coverage of transnationalism, microaggressions, and public health and community issues, and each chapter features updated case studies on the most critical issues immigrants face today: legal processes, physical and mental health issues, employment difficulties, family conflicts, and more. Key Features: Completely updated to reflect the latest developments in immigration law and policy Includes updated case studies, discussion questions, and abundant reference material Provides the multidisciplinary perspective of lawyers, social workers, clinicians, administrators, and academics A valuable asset for students and practitioners working in mental health, health care, education, and community settings All-new appendix features sample questions asked at naturalization interviews

In this widely used course text and practitioner resource, Froma Walsh provides a state-of-the-art framework for understanding resilience in families and how to foster it. Illuminating the complex interplay of biopsychosocial influences in risk and resilience, she identifies key transactional processes that enable struggling families to grow stronger and more resourceful. Case illustrations demonstrate Walsh's collaborative approach with diverse families facing a wide range of crisis situations and chronic multistress challenges. The book features practice principles, tools, and guidelines, as well as programmatic applications. New to This Edition *Incorporates the latest practice advances and resilience research. *Chapter on assessment tools and strategies. *Chapter on disruptive transitions across the family life cycle. *Expanded coverage of war-related and collective trauma.

In this groundbreaking look at the history and politics of the US child welfare system, When the Welfare People Come exposes the system in its totality, from child protective investigation to foster care and mandated services, arguing that it constitutes a mechanism of control exerted over poor and working class parents and children. Applying the Marxist framework of social reproduction theory to the child welfare system, the author reveals the system's role in the regulation of family life under capitalism.