Skip to main content

Inez Moore Parker Archives: ABOUT the Archives

The Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center preserves, selects, and makes accessible vital information pertaining to the University’s history and administration and the African American experience in the South.

About this Guide

Welcome to the James B. Duke Memorial library's Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center. You will find here links to information about the archives and using its collections. There is also a selection of books, tutorials, and videos for getting started with learning about archiving.

ABOUT THE ARCHIVES

The Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center contains manuscripts, journals, scrapbooks, photographs, clippings, and artifacts.  Within the archives, there is also a Black Heritage Room with a small collection of rare books, autographed books, manuscripts, and books written by and about Africans and African Americans. To learn more about Inez Moore Parker and the history of the archives, visit our website.

Digital Smith is the online presence for the Archives and currently contains over 8,000 artifacts including photographs, documents, news clippings, publications and audio files pertaining to the history of JCSU, its affiliations with churches, its alumni and administration. To browse our digital collections, visit
Digital Smith.

ARCHIVES POLICIES

The Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center preserves, selects, and makes accessible vital information pertaining to the University’s history, administrative operations, and the Black experience. 

The archives is a place where the preservation of materials are kept for administrative and researchers' use.

The Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center places primary emphasis on:

•  Selecting only those records that best document the University’s history, administration, faculty, staff, and students.

•  Collecting and preserving historical records, which document the Black experiences in the Charlotte, NC region.

•  Seeking to cooperate with other repositories, individuals, and organizations that create important records in order to promote the identification and preservation of records for understanding the University’s history and the Black experience.

•  Obtaining manuscripts and books documenting the Black experience.

Note: Some archival materials are restricted.

All physical and/or digital collections are the property of Johnson C. Smith University.

In most cases, you are 
free to use the materials for educational and research purposes. In other cases, materials are restricted due to copyright agreements, confidentiality, and or donor preferences.

If you have any questions, please check with the 
University Archivist for clarification. His email is blunsford@jcsu.edu and phone number (704) 370-6741.

Physical access to the archives is done by appointment only. Borrowing materials from the archive is prohibited. 

Loading ...

WELCOME TO THE ARCHIVES

VISITING THE ARCHIVES

Tours of the Archives and Research Center are available by appointment and can be arranged by contacting the University Archivist (see contact information on the right sidebar).  More information on visiting is available under the VISITOR information tab. 
 

REQUESTING INFORMATION

There are 2 ways to request information from the archives.

  • First, you can request information from the archives by using the online form.  Be sure to include your contact information and a member of the archives staff will contact you.
     
  • You can also make an in-person to visit with the University Archivist, Mr. Brandon Lunsford. His email is blunsford@jcsu.edu and phone number (704) 370-6741.

CONTACT US

Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center
James B. Duke Memorial Library
Johnson C. Smith University
100 Beatties Ford Road
Charlotte, NC 28216
Telephone: (704) 371-6741
Fax: (704) 378-3524

ARCHIVES STAFF

Brandon Lunsford
University Archivist
blunsford@jcsu.edu
(704) 370-6741
 

 

 
 
 
 

 

LOCATION & HOURS

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday : 9am – 1pm and 2pm – 4pm

Location
2nd floor of the James B. Duke Memorial Library