Skip to main content

Inez Moore Parker Archives: COLLECTIONS

The Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center preserves, selects, and makes accessible vital information pertaining to the University’s history and administration and the African American experience in the South.

ABOUT OUR COLLECTIONS

The James B. Duke Memorial library's Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Cente contains manuscripts, journals, scrapbooks, photographs, clippings, and artifacts. These important collections preserve the rich history of Johnson C. Smith University, one of the premier Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCU).

The collections contain artifacts that enlighten, educate and celebrate the Black American experience in the South, Black Americans in  church life, as well as Black American achievement. Digital Smith is the online presence for the Archives and currently contains over 8,000 artifacts including photographs, documents, news clippings, publications and audio files pertaining to the history of JCSU, its affiliations with churches, its alumni and administration. 

PHYSICAL COLLECTIONS


The best ways to learn about the collections are to:

  • check out the Collection Guides on this page
  • check out the Finding Aids section of this LibGuide
  • contact the University Archivist, Brandon Lunsford for specific information.
    Email blunsford@jcsu.edu AND/OR phone is 704.371-6741.

     

REQUESTING INFORMATION

There are 2 ways to request information from the archives.

  • First, you can request information from the archives by using the online form.  Be sure to include your contact information and a member of the archives staff will contact you.
     
  • You can also make an in-person to visit with the University Archivist, Mr. Brandon Lunsford. His email is blunsford@jcsu.edu and phone number (704) 370-6741.

COLLECTION GUIDES

Each collection guide tells you about the collection's contents and offers help on searching the collection. 

Inez Moore Parker General Tour
 
The GENERAL TOUR  guide gives you information about the Archives, a brief history, its contents and policies.
Inez Moore Parker Archives Collections Tour The COLLECTIONS TOUR  gives information about each collection in the Archives.
collections map A visual COLLECTIONS MAP of all collections in the Archives.

VISITING THE ARCHIVES

Tours of the Archives and Research Center are available by appointment and can be arranged by contacting the University Archivist (see contact information on the right sidebar).  More information on visiting is available under the VISITOR information tab. 
 

CONTACT US

Inez Moore Parker Archives and Research Center
James B. Duke Memorial Library
Johnson C. Smith University
100 Beatties Ford Road
Charlotte, NC 28216
Telephone: (704) 371-6741
Fax: (704) 378-3524

DIGITAL SMITH

Digital Smith is the home of the digital collections of the Archives. There are over 8,000 digitized items in multiple collections.

Current collections in Digital Smith are:

Audio
Collection
JCSU Catalog
Collection 
Presbyterian 
Collection
A.O. & Dorothy Steele
Collection 
JCSU Publications
Collection
Records of the Director of
Public Relations
Moses S. Belton
Board of Trustees
Collection

JCSU Yearbook
Collection

Senior Papers
Collection
Golden Legacies
Oral History Project
McCrorey
Collection
Theological Seminary
Collection
History of JCSU 
Collection
Photograph 
Collection
The Charlotte Post Collection
Finding Aid
Collection
History West End Oral History Project  


 

LOCATION & HOURS

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday : 9am – 1pm and 2pm – 4pm

Location
2nd floor of the James B. Duke Memorial Library