LibGuides: Visual & Performing Arts and Music: Databases

Accessing JCSU Library Databases

James B. Duke Memorial Library Databases

The James B. Duke Memorial Library provides access to a variety of electronic resources via our databases. These subscription-based resources are offered to supplement the library’s print resources and to provide information that is necessary for research and information needs.

Access to databases is permitted within the library, as well as from any location on or off campus. However, due to licensing restrictions access to some electronic resources are limited to current JCSU students, faculty, and staff with valid user ID’s and passwords.

How to Access the Databases On and Off Campus

In order to access the databases either on or off campus please follow these steps:

From the homepage (library.jcsu.edu), choose Services at the top of the page, then select Articles & Databases OR go to the Articles & Databases icon in the SELECT THE TYPE OF MATERIAL YOU WANT TO SEARCH section of the page.
From the general list, choose the title of the database you would like to access.
If you are off campus you will be redirected to a login page where you will log in with your JCSU email and the your email password. Example: Email Address is jdoe.2020@mymail.jcsu.edu and password is ABcd_123.

Please contact the Reference Desk at (704) 371-6732 if you require assistance.

Using the Catalog to Find Articles

JBDML Online Catalog
Click the advanced search option, go to format, click the dropdown menu and select article from the options.
Type your search term(s) in the search box and press enter or the search icon.
Also, note that you may search the catalog by keyword, author, ISBN, title, journal source, subject, etc.

List of Useful JCSU Library Databases for VPA and Music Majors

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers. Suitable for all disciplines.
Britannica Online
Britannica Online Academic Edition is a combination of the insightful Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need when conducting thorough research.
Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Films on Demand
Provides access to thousands of high quality videos from travel and fitness programming, to home and how-to videos, indie films, popular music performances, documentaries, and curriculum-based educational videos.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 publishers from several disciplines.
JSTOR
An archival database of older scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. This is a full text database, and contains complete backfiles of core journals starting with first issues, many of which date back to the 1800s. Most titles published within the last 2-5 years are not included.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Career & Technical Education
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Computing Database
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
Telecommunications Database
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

List of Useful Non-JCSU Databases

ArtNC
A resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art that is designed for anyone interested in looking at and learning from works of art.
CAMIO
The OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO) is an online collection showcasing art from around the world and those of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights art from prehistoric to contemporary times and covers many different forms.
DigitalNC
DigitalNC.org is hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The website contains thousands of items from libraries, archives, and museums from around the state of North Carolina and is an excellent resource for anyone interested in the history and culture of North Carolina.
Internet Movie DataBase
IMDb is a popular source for movie, TV and celebrity content.
Online Film Dictionary
This dictionary clarifies movie-specific terms that are in foreign languages.

JOURNAL FINDER

Journal Finder Link
Use Journal Finder to determine if JCSU provides print or electronic access to a specific journal title. Contains direct links to full-text articles when available.