Inez Moore Parker Archives: LEARN: Resources on African Americans in the South

Are you conducting historical research for a class? Perhaps, you are researching your family history. This page provides great resources on the African American History and their experiences in the South.

• African Americans in North Carolina: Slavery and Reconstruction 
  - https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nc-african-americans-special-collections/slavery
  
  This guide is designed to assist researchers Investigating the history and culture of African Americans in North Carolina. 
   
• History, Art & Archives, United States House of Representatives - Black Americans in Congress
  - http://history.house.gov/Exhibitions-and-Publications/BAIC/Black-Americans-in-Congress/
  
  This page gives member profiles and historic essays on the experiences of African Americans in Congress from the 1800's until the present.
   
• National Archives - Archives Library Information Center (ALIC)  Black History 
  - https://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/black-history.html
  
  This page contains an extensive collection of resources on topics such as slavery, abolition, reconstruction, segregation and Civil Rights.
   
• NCPedia - Exploring North Carolina:  African American History
  - https://www.ncpedia.org/exploring-north-carolina-african-american-history
  
  This page gathers resources in NCpedia that cover the history and heritage of African Americans in North Carolina from the colonial era to the present day.
   
• North Carolina Digital Collections- African American Education
  - http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/home/collections/african-american-education
  
  This collection contains documents and photographs related to African American education in North Carolina before 1950 drawn from the collections of the Charlotte Hawkins Brown Museum and the State Archives of North Carolina.
   
  
• North Carolina Arts Council - Freedom Roads
  - https://www.ncarts.org/leadership/north-carolina-african-american-heritage-commission/freedom-roads
  
  Freedom Roads is a statewide trail system designed to recognize the roads, rivers and ports in North Carolina that were crucial to the efforts of enslaved African Americans seeking freedom, and to those groups and individuals who supported and assisted their efforts. 
   
• State Library of North Carolina - How to Find Slave Records 
  - https://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/ghl/genealogy/finding-slave-records
  
  A tutorial on finding slave records using various sources such as Census, county and private records.
   
• Smithsonian Institution - Smithsonian Music
  An Exploration of Smithsonian Collections Featuring African American Music - Roots of African American Music
  - https://www.si.edu/spotlight/african-american-music/roots-of-african-american-music
  
  This page contains extensive research and resources on the evolution of African American music.